“She looks too pure to be pink.”

By: musicisfoodoflove

Jun 15 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Recipes

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:6.3mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:FE340,X855,C560

(from the movie Grease)

Hey everyone!  I’m Sara, and I consider myself to be a baker and an avid lover of the sweet things in life.  I am half Japanese, half German, so I have a lot of interesting recipes in my cooking repertoire.  I’m a classical violinist and bluegrass fiddle player (my band is called The Black River Belles), so a lot of my baking inspirations come from the music I play and listen to, whether that’s Brahms, Sam Bush, or Ornette Coleman, to name only some of the musical inspirations in my life.  I bake a lot at school (Oberlin), but I also want to get better at cooking, so I’m going to do a little bit of both, to spice things up a little bit!  😉

So, since I have been home, I’ve been watching cheesy romantic movies, including Grease, which I am currently watching.  Watching this movie made me want to make something PINK, in honor of the Pink Ladies!  Therefore, I have decided to make Spritz! It’s a family recipe, passed down from generation to generation, and is simultaneously one of the easiest cookies to make!  Usually I make them during the holidays or for special occasions.  WARNING: These cookies are THE most addictive cookie in existence, so caution if you make these; they will be devoured.


(I promise, these cookies actually looked pink….)

SPRITZ

Currently listening to: You’re the One That I Want, from Grease

Ingredients
3 sticks (1-1/2 cups) butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
3 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 tsp vanilla extract
cookie press
food coloring of your choice
sprinkles!

Directions
Preheat oven to 350º F.  Cream butter and sugar.  Add egg and extracts, then dry ingredients.
Once dough is formed, add food coloring as desired.  Choose which shape you want in the cookie press, and then scoop the dough into the cookie press.  Place the cookie dough shapes on ungreased cookie sheets and add sprinkles, as desired!  Bake for 10-12 minutes.

Make sure you bake these with black leather leggings and red pumps.  🙂

Leave a Reply

