“There’s a pizza place near where I live that sells only slices… in the back you can see a guy tossing a triangle in the air…”

By: musicisfoodoflove

Jul 14 2010

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Recipes

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/3.4
Focal Length:8mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/20 sec
Camera:KODAK DX7630 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

-Stephen Wright

So I haven’t posted in a while.  In all honesty, I’ve cooked a whole lot…I hosted a dinner party with a huge menu, but after 8+ hours of cooking, I forgot to take pictures and such.  Let me tell you the line up and see if I can scrounge up some leftovers!
Brie Wheel
Bruschetta

Caesar Salad

Homemade Manicotti
Eggplant Parmesan

Vegan Garlic Knots
Asparagus

Blueberry Sour Cream Tart.

It was wonderful! I played a mixture of the old Rat Pack and some classical selections, it was a success…I think.

So I woke up nostalgic for Italy and emailed my Italian friends for a recipe for Italian pizza found at the mom and pop stores in any Italian city.

Naturally I picked this song for today:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8041928/01%20That%27s%20Amore.mp3

I combined his recipe with one I tweaked and got the following:

1/2 cup warm water
1 tsp yeast
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp honey
1 Tbsp oil
1.5 cups flour

mix water and yeast and leave for about 10 minutes, then add the rest of the liquid ingredients, and finally the flour.  The dough is going to look really dry.  And when I say really dry I mean you’re going to say “well this is really bleeping dry” but it will work, just wet your hands and knead into a ball.  Since it’s summertime, and I live in a warm climate, I cover a bowl with saran wrap and stick it outside for about 1-2 hours.  If it’s not baked by then, it will have risen substantially.  After it rises, preheat your oven to 425° and roll out your dough as thin as possible.  Make a crust by gathering some dough and squeezing it together.  My dough made a pizza about 16″.  I made a “quattro formaggio” pizza (4 cheese pizza)

Toppings:
Crushed tomatoes (I was too lazy and just bought a can)
Basil
Mozzarella  (Buffala is the best, but it is trés cher!)
Ricotta
Romano
Gorgonzola
All of the cheeses I used are NOT shredded! The Mozzarella is fresh (In water) and the rest i cut up in chunks or crumbles
and again, any other topping you want.  I used mushrooms.

put a thin coat of tomato sauce on the dough, followed by the basil and veggies you want and then put the cheese on top, as much or little as you want.  Sprinkle some olive oil on top and stick in the oven for 10 minutes.  Then, turn oven onto broil and bake an additional 3 minutes.

Voila!  I, of course, sprinkled mine with crushed red pepper (and by sprinkled I mean drenched) and served it with light salad!

With love,

Summer

Leave a Reply

