“Life is uncertain. Eat dessert first.”

By: musicisfoodoflove

Oct 13 2010

Category: Recipes

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:160
Shutter:1/14 sec
Camera:iPhone 3GS

 

-Ernestine Ulmer

Hey everyone!

So, we’re well into the semester now, and only 9 more days until fall break!  I’m really excited, because I’m visiting my brother in….NYC!  I’ve never been without my parents before, and now that I’m 21, I can check out the bar and club scenes, coffeeshops, shopping, and Pinkberry of course!  However, before I head to the Big Apple, I have to take a German test, write two papers, and practice my ass off for lessons I have to take.  I’m applying to grad school for next fall, so I need to take lessons with teachers to see who I might be studying with, if I end up in NYC!  Which means….I can’t sound like shit!  haha.

Anyway, it’s been a stressful past few weeks, so I decided to make muffins!  As y’all will come to know, I am in love with raspberries.  I think they’re a very sensual fruit and have a glorious combination of sweet and tart.  In my opinion, raspberries go unbelievably well with lemon, so….Raspberry Lemon Muffins with Streusel Topping it is!  (Original Recipe: http://fortheloveofcooking-recipes.blogspot.com/2008/07/lemon-and-raspberry-muffins-with.html)

Recommended listening: Brahms Piano Trio No. 1 in B Major

Raspberry Lemon Muffins with Streussel Topping
INGREDIENTS:

(for muffins)
2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter, melted
1/2 cup of milk
Juice from 1 lemon
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
Zest from 1 lemon, chopped finely
8 oz fresh raspberries (frozen would work too)
for Streusel topping)

1/4 cup of white sugar
2 tbsp flour
2 tbsp cold butter, chopped into pieces

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter muffin tins. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt; blend well. In another bowl, combine melted butter, milk, lemon juice, lemon zest, vanilla and eggs; mix thoroughly. Slowly stir egg mixture into the flour mixture until well blended. Add the raspberries and mix slowly and carefully. Spoon batter evenly into greased muffin tins. For the streusel topping, combine ingredients with your hands until flaky and crumbly.  Sprinkle the streusel topping on top of each muffin. Bake in the oven for 15-17 minutes or until lightly browned.

Hope y’all enjoy!

Love,

Sara

Leave a Reply

