All I really need is love, but a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt!

By: musicisfoodoflove

Nov 22 2010

Category: Recipes

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/6.4
Focal Length:7.7mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/40 sec
Camera:FE340,X855,C560

– Lucy Van Pelt in Peanuts by Charles M. Schulz

Hey y’all!

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve written!  School’s been pretty crazy, as Summer mentioned in the previous post….I’m applying to Graduate School for Violin Performance, and everything is due so soon!  I have to start recording my preliminary audition tapes for four of my schools on Tuesday, so I’ve gotta start hitting that practice room!  But what do I do when I’m stressed out?  I bake, of course!  And Thanksgiving is SO close, so I can’t complain there!  I plan on making a family recipe of apple pie, which I will post soon 🙂

So, THE cake.  Yes, it is THE cake, because it is in high demand whenever I’m at Oberlin 🙂  I made this cake for Summer’s Junior Recital, and it was GONE.  I couldn’t believe it!  It was definitely divine, and I am a firm believer that chocolate and raspberry is the greatest and sexiest combination ever!  I recently made this cake for a friend of mine, Julia’s birthday about a month and a half ago, and it turned out great!  I will warn you, it’s a LOT of work, so prepare some time to get everything ready, and to get your hands dirty!  😉

Recommended Listening: “Don’t Rain On My Parade,” Lea Michele (from Glee!  Yeah, I know…I watch that show, but it’s SO wonderful!!)

CHOCOLATE RASPBERRY LAYERED CAKE WITH CHOCOLATE GANACHE FROSTING

Original Recipe: http://www.pickycook.com/dessert/chocolateraspberrylayercakewithchocolateganachefrosting.aspx

INGREDIENTS
3 oz semi-sweet chocolate
1-1/2 cups hot coffee
3 cups sugar
2-1/2 cups flour
1-1/2 cups cocoa powder
2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
1-1/4 tsp salt
3 eggs
3/4 cup butter
1-1/2 cups buttermilk
3/4 tsp vanilla
(for frosting)
1/2 lb semi-sweet chocolate
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp light corn syrup
2 Tbsp butter
(for filling)
20 oz raspberries (plus some extra to put on top!)
1/2 cup sugar
zest of 1 lemon
2 Tbsp cornstarch

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 300 degrees F and butter two 10×2 inch cake pans.  Line bottoms with wax paper, butter again, and dust pans with cocoa powder.  Finely chop chocolate in a bowl and combine with coffee.  Let stand, stirring occasionally until chocolate is melted and mixture is smooth.  In a large bowl, sift sugar, flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  In another large bowl beat eggs and slowly add butter, buttermilk, vanilla, and melted chocolate.  Add sugar mixture and beat on medium speed until combined well; divide between pans and bake for 1 hour to 1 hour 10 minutes.  Be careful—usually my cakes overflow, so put them over cookie sheets to make sure you don’t get leftover batter burning in your oven!

For the frosting, finely chop chocolate.  In a small saucepan, bring cream, sugar, and corn syrup to a boil over low heat, whisking until sugar is dissolved.  Remove from heat and add chocolate, whisking until chocolate is melted.  Cut butter into small pieces and add to frosting, whisking until smooth.

For the filling, purèe raspberries.  Pour purèed raspberries through a strainer to remove the seeds.  Heat the purèe in a small pot with the sugar and cornstarch until mixture boils, stirring constantly.  Once it thickens, stir in lemon zest.  Cool, and spread.  I usually get an excess of this, so I usually combine it with the frosting a little bit, when frosting the cake.

To assemble the cake, make sure the cakes are cool!  Pour the raspberry filling in between the two cakes.  Frost the cake and mix the sides with a little bit of extra raspberry filling.  Top with raspberries.

Hope y’all enjoy!

Love,

Sara

Leave a Reply

